Very smart move Pearl Jam. Well done!!

Pearl Jam Invite All Five Drummers to Rock Hall Induction Ceremony

Pearl Jam announced Saturday that they will invite all five of their drummers – Dave Krusen, Matt Chamberlain, Dave Abbruzzese, Jack Irons and Matt Cameron – to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame induction ceremony.

In a handwritten note posted on the band’s Twitter, the group acknowledged that, with the April 7th date approaching, “we do feel fortunate to be recognized and provided the opportunity to reunite with everyone who has been part of the group.”

“Specifically the drummers who all left their distinctive mark on our band in the pre-Matt Cameron years,” they added.

When Pearl Jam’s induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame was revealed, only two of the band’s drummers – Ten drummer Dave Krusen (to his own surprise) and current and longtime drummer Matt Cameron – were named as inductees alongside Eddie Vedder, Stone Gossard, Mike McCready and Jeff Ament.

The Rock Hall’s omissions especially drew the ire of Abbruzzese, who lobbied Pearl Jam to use their clout and have him inducted for his Vs. and Vitalogy contributions. He later questioned the band’s integrity over the Rock Hall snub.

“The members of Pearl Jam have got to know what’s the right thing to do. They can’t justify ignoring my contributions. Like me or not. If there is still a part of that band that remembers how hard we worked, how much blood and how much sweat,” Abbruzzese wrote on Facebook in October. “They will do the right thing.”

“Dave Krusen, Matt Chamberlain, Dave Abbruzzese and Jack Irons are each individually great players who gave their all to the early recordings and live gigs,” the band continued in their Saturday statement. “Looking forward to seeing them and all the other musicians on the bill.”

Pearl Jam added that they wished H.R. and Perry Farrell were there to celebrate too, a nod to a hopefully future induction for Bad Brains and Jane’s Addiction after both bands were nominated in 2016.

Asked whether Abbruzzese, Chamberlain and Irons would be inducted into the Rock Hall, a representative for Pearl Jam said the inductees are solely determined by the Rock Hall and not the band. Following Pearl Jam’s invitation, a rep for the Rock Hall confirmed to Rolling Stone that only Krusen and Cameron would be inducted.

Reps for Abbruzzese, Chamberlain and Irons did not immediately reply to requests for comment.

Pearl Jam will be enshrined alongside Journey, Joan Baez, ELO, Yes and Tupac Shakur at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn on April 7th.