Should be great!! Can’t wait to hear this!!

Joni Mitchell announces archival box set, Love Has Many Faces

Joni Mitchell has announced a new four-disc box set entitled Love Has Many Faces: A Quartet, A Ballet, Waiting To Be Danced. Featuring 53 remastered songs from the iconic singer-songwriter’s storied 40-year career, curated by Mitchell herself, the package will be released on November 17th via Rhino.

The remastered versions of old songs promise to be “familiar but fresh,” with “a lot of sonic adjustment.” In a press release, she explained, “I am a painter who writes songs. My songs are very visual. The words create scenes … What I have done here is to gather some of these scenes (like a documentary filmmaker) and by juxtaposition, edit them into a whole new work.”

Mitchell went so far as to rearrange the 53 songs into “thematic acts” like that of a ballet. Likening the process of reorganizing and repurposing her catalog to that of a film editor, she noted, “I had 40 years of footage to review. Then, suddenly, scenes began to hook up. Then series began to form.” She added, “Instead of it being an emotional roller coaster ride as it was before — crammed into one disc — themes began to develop. Moods sustained. I was getting there…When this long editorial process (two years) finally came to rest, I had four ballets or a four-act ballet — a quartet. I also had a box set.”

Also included in the package is a deluxe, hardcover book that includes 53 lyrical poems to coincide with the songs, six brand new paintings, and Mitchell-penned liner notes describing her recording process. The suggested retail price is $59.98.

Love Has Many Faces: A Quartet, A Ballet, Waiting To Be Danced Tracklist:

Disc 1
01. In France They Kiss On Main street
02. Ray’s Dad’s Cadillac
03. You Turn Me On I’m A Radio
04. Harlem In Havana
05. Car On a Hill
06. Dancin Clown
07. River
08. Chinese Cafe/Unchained Melody
09. Harry’s House/Centerpiece
10. Shades of Scarlett Conquering
11. Number One
12. The Windfall (Everything For Nothing)
13. Come In From the Cold

Disc 2
01. Court and Spark
02. No Apologies
03. Trouble Child
04. Not to Blame
05. Nothing Can Be Done
06. Comes Love
07. Moon At the window
08. Blue
09. Tax Free
10. The Wolf That Lives In Lindsey
11. Hana
12. Hejira
13. Stay In Touch
14. Night Ride Home

Disc 3
01. You’re My Thrill
02. The Crazy Cries of Love
03. Love Puts On a New Face
04. Borderline
05. A Strange Boy
06. You Dream Flat Tires
07. Love
08. All I Want
09. Be Cool
10. Yvette In English
11. Just Like This Train
12. Carey
13. The Only Joy In Town

Disc 4
01. Don Juan’s Reckless Daughter
02. Two Grey Rooms
03. God Must Be a Boogie Man
04. Down To You
05. A Case of You
06. The Last Time I Saw Richard
07. Raised on Robbery
08. Sweet Sucker Dance
09. Lakota
10. Cool Water
11. Amelia
12. Both Sides Now
13. My Best To You