New R.E.M. Album, ‘Collapse Into Now,’ Out March 8
R.E.M. has announced a March 8, 2011 release date for “Collapse Into Now,” their 15th studio album and follow-up to 2008’s “Accelerate.”
The 12-track album was produced by Jacknife Lee, who recorded with the band in New Orleans and Berlin, Germany after working with the group on “Accelerate.” Patti Smith, Peaches, Pearl Jam singer Eddie Vedder and guitarist Lenny Kaye will appear as guests on “Collapse Into Now.”
The trio has also announced the release of new track “It Happened Today” next week as a free download for those pre-order the album on iTunes. R.E.M. previously posted the album’s lead track, “Discoverer,” last month on its website.
R.E.M. — whose current lineup consists of singer Michael Stipe, guitarist Peter Buck and bassist Mike Mills — reached No. 2 on Billboard 200 in 2008 with “Accelerate.” Their last release, the two-CD set “R.E.M. Live At the Olympia,” was issued in October 2009.
Here is the tracklist for “Collapse Into Now”:
All The Best
Oh My Heart
It Happened Today
Every Day Is Yours To Win
Mine Smell Like Honey
Walk It Back
Alligator Aviator Autopilot Antimatter
That Someone Is You
Me, Marlon Brando, Marlon Brando and I