Neil Young to release 14th CD of the year
The latest release in a blizzard of activity from Neil Young will be a solo acoustic album that takes a “closer look at” the 10 songs that became Young’s bestselling Harvest Moon.
The album, announced on, will be released “on or about Nov. 2nd, 17 years after the original release of Harvest Moon. “A closer look at Harvest Moon songs, all performed solo acoustic before the release of Harvest Moon, Dreamin’ Man contains intimate live performances recorded in concert halls during 1992.”
Assuming this is Young’s final release of 2009 (not an entirely safe bet), Dreamin’ Man will be the 14th CD he’s put out this year alone. That total includes the studio album Fork in the Road (April), the eight CDs that comprised the audio-only version of his massive Archives, Vol. 1 project (June), and reissues of Neil Young, Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere, After the Goldrush and Harvest (July).
Dreamin’ Man includes all of the songs that ended up on Harvest Moon, albeit in different order, plus “Old King Rap,” which one presumes is an elaborate intro to “Old King.”
The track listing for Dreamin’ Man:
1. Dreamin’ Man
2. Such a Woman
3. Old King Rap
4. Old King
5. One of These Days
6. Harvest Moon
7. You and Me
8. From Hank to Hendrix
9. Unknown Legend
10. Natural Beauty
11. War of Man