12496 – New Tunage – Sorry, youa re on your own again this week, it is still all Green Day, all the time for me!!

New Releases, June 30: Rob Thomas, Brad Paisley, Wilco, Moby, Levon Helm, and more!!
Rob Thomas “Cradlesong” (Atlantic)
The pop/rock star, who came to fame as the frontman for Matchbox Twenty, is finally ready to unveil his second solo record. The first single from “Cradlesong” is the track “Her Diamonds.”
“Cradlesong” follows 2005’s “…Something To Be,” which made chart history when Thomas became the first male artist from a rock or pop group to debut at No. 1 with his inaugural solo album, according to a press release. In a broader sense, “Cradlesong” also follows his 2007 reunion with his Matchbox Twenty bandmates on “Exile On Mainstream,” which was the first group effort since the 2003 six-song collection, “EP.”
* * *
Brad Paisley “American Saturday Night” (RCA)
The mega-popular cowboy crooner/guitarist is back with a follow-up to last year’s “Play.” The first single from “American Saturday Night,” Paisley’s eighth studio album, is the hit song “Then,” which holds the distinction of being the fastest-rising chart-topper of Paisley’s career, according to a press release.
Paisley currently is supporting the new album with a major North American trek, dubbed the “Saturday Night Tour.” The run will hit more than 40 cities and stretches well into October. His tour companions are fellow country singers Dierks Bentley and Jimmy Wayne.
In other news, Paisley had a huge night at the most recent CMT Music Awards. The country star tallied the most belt-buckle-shaped trophies this year of any entertainer, snagging Male Video of the Year for “Waitin’ On a Woman,” Collaborative Video of the Year with Keith Urban for “Start a Band” and Performance of the Year alongside Alan Jackson, George Strait and Dierks Bentley for their rendition of “Country Boy” on “CMT Giants: Alan Jackson.”
* * *
Wilco “Wilco (The Album)” (Nonesuch)
The acclaimed alt-rock act is set deliver “Wilco (The Album).” The record is the Chicago-based group’s seventh studio offering to date, and its first since 2007’s “Sky Blue Sky.”
Wilco co-produced the album with studio vet Jim Scott (who had worked as a mixer on some of the band’s prior discs) during recording sessions in New Zealand and Chicago. “Wilco (The Album)” also includes the group’s first-ever official duet, “You and I,” which was recorded with Canadian singer Feist.
Wilco is currently touring in support of its new album–as well as a recently released concert DVD, “Ashes of American Flags”–and plans call for the band to remain on the road through an Aug. 23 appearance at Minnesota’s 10,000 Lakes Festival.
* * *
Moby “Wait For Me” (Mute)
The electronica giant, who took the music world by storm with the 1999 dance manifesto “Play,” plugs back in for his ninth studio album. “Wait For Me” follows 2008’s “Last Night.”
The first single from “Wait For Me” is the track “Shot in the Back of the Head,” the music video for which was directed by David Lynch. Moby produced the album, then turned it over for mixing to Ken Thomas (Sigur Ros).
* * *
Levon Helm “Electric Dirt” (Vanguard)
The classic-rock legend, best known as a founding member of The Band, returns with his second solo offering. “Electric Dirt” was produced by Larry Campbell, who also worked the boards on Helm’s 2007 Grammy-award winning “Dirt Farmer.”
“Electric Dirt” features versions of The Grateful Dead’s “Tennessee Jed,” Happy Traum’s “Golden Bird” and Randy Newman’s “Kingfish.” It also includes horn arrangements by Allen Toussaint and the Levon Helm Band.
* * *
More new releases:
Bjork, “Voltaic” (Nonesuch)
Jefferson Airplane, “Jefferson Airplane: The Woodstock Experience” (Sony)
Janis Joplin, “Janis Joplin: The Woodstock Experience” (Sony)
Killswitch Engage, “Killswitch Engage” (Roadrunner)
Lillian Axe, “Sad Day on Planet Earth” (Blistering)
Santana, “Santana: The Woodstock Experience” (Sony)
Sly & The Family Stone, “Sly & The Family Stone: The Woodstock Experience” (Sony)
Rod Stewart, “A Night on the Town” (Rhino)
Tanya Tucker, “My Turn” (Saguaro Road)
Twisted Sister, “Stay Hungry” (Rhino)
Various Artists, “Now That’s What I Call Music, Vol. 31” (Sony)
Various Artists, “The Woodstock Experience” (Sony)
Johnny Winter, “Johnny Winter: The Woodstock Experience” (Sony)
Soundtracks and scores:
“Road Show” (Nonesuch)