New Tunage – Yup, there is some good new stuff out this week!

New CD Releases, September 2: New Kids on the Block, Brian Wilson, Young Jeezy
New Kids on the Block “The Block”
The legendary boy band, whose members are now in their 30s, returns with its first batch of new material in 14 years. The first single from “The Block” is the smash hit “Summertime.”
The New Kids will support “The Block” with a major North American reunion tour, which kicks off with a two-night stand, Sept. 18-19, in Toronto. Prior to appearing earlier this year on TV, the band hadn’t performed together publicly in 15 years.
As teenagers, the New Kids–Joey McIntyre, Donnie Wahlberg, Jordan Knight, Jonathan Knight and Danny Wood–sold more than 70 million records and racked up back-to-back No. 1 albums with 1988’s “Hangin’ Tough” and 1990’s “Step by Step.” Following a slew of R&B/pop crossover hits and several world tours, the group quietly disbanded in 1994.
* * *
Brian Wilson “That Lucky Old Sun”
The Beach Boys mastermind, the man responsible for some of the most beloved rock songs of all time, is back with a new solo album. “That Lucky Old Sun,” the singer/songwriter’s first studio effort since his 2004 re-recording of the Beach Boys’ “Smile,” marks Wilson’s return to Capitol/EMI, the label that launched the Beach Boys’ career with the 1962 hit “Surfin’ Safari/409.”
“I’m thrilled to be back home with Capitol, and I’m looking forward to sharing ‘That Lucky Old Sun’ with everyone,” Wilson said in a press release. “This music is really special to me.”
The Rock and Roll Hall of Famer will back “That Lucky Old Sun” on the road. His trek begins with a Sept. 5 date in Oakland, CA.
* * *
Young Jeezy “The Recession”
The hip-hop star is set to drop his third major-label studio release, which follows 2006’s platinum-plus-selling “The Inspiration.” Two singles from the album are making their rounds at radio: “Put On,” featuring production work from Kanye West, and “Crazy World.”
The rapper has already made news this year, but not for musical reasons. Back in June, Young Jeezy was arrested in Atlanta and charged with speeding, no proof of insurance, open container, reckless driving and driving while impaired by alcohol/drugs, according to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution.
* * *
Terrence Howard “Shine Through It”
The acclaimed actor takes a break from the big screen and focuses his attention on his musical career. “Shine Through It,” which reportedly can be categorized as a neo-soul offering, features 11 original tracks, all written, produced and arranged by Howard.
* * *
Rodney Crowell “Sex and Gasoline”
The acclaimed singer/songwriter, who became a country superstar with 1988’s “Diamonds and Dirt,” returns with a new studio offering, produced by Joe Henry. Crowell’s studio band on “Sex and Gasoline” is loaded with studs, including guitarists Doyle Bramhall II and Greg Leisz.
* * *
More new releases:
Joshua Bell, “Vivaldi: The Four Seasons” (Sony)
Elvin Bishop, “The Blues Rolls On” (Delta Groove)
Lila Downs, “Shake Away” (Manhattan)
Michael Feinstein, “The Sinatra Project” (Concord)
Deitrick Haddon, “Revealed” (Verity)
Hollywood Undead, “Swan Songs” (A&M)
Jefferson Airplane, “At the Family Dog Ballroom” (Snapper)
Jefferson Starship, “Jefferson’s Tree of Liberty” (The Lab)
Sonya Kitchell, “This Storm” (Decca)
Southside Johnny with La Bamba’s Big Band, “Grapefruit Moon: The Songs Of Tom Waits” (Redeye)
The Smithereens, “B-Sides the Beatles” (Koch)
Chris Tomlin, “Hello Love” (Sixstepsrecords)
Underoath, “Lost in the Sound of Separation” (Tooth and Nail)
Soundtracks and scores:
“Bones” (Nettwerk)