New Tunage – Love that Duffy CD!!

New CD Releases, May 13: Death Cab for Cutie, Duffy, Jason Mraz
Death Cab for Cutie “Narrow Stairs”
The Pacific Northwest pop-rock quartet returns with a follow-up to 2005’s Grammy-nominated “Plans.” The first single from “Narrow Stairs,” the band’s second major-label release, is “I Will Possess Your Heart.” The album was produced by Death Cab’s guitarist, Chris Walla.
Having appeared last month at Southern California’s Coachella Valley music festival, Death Cab is now on the road in support of “Narrow Stairs.” The trek includes stops at Tennessee’s Bonnaroo (June 15) and British Columbia’s Pemberton Festival (July 27).
* * *
Duffy “Rockferry”
The Welsh singer/songwriter is already a star in the U.K., where her debut CD, “Rockferry,” was released earlier this year. Now, she’s ready to try her luck on this side of the Atlantic as “Rockferry” is officially released in the U.S.
Duffy, whose retro-soul sound invites comparisons to Amy Winehouse, has gotten a head start on familiarizing American audiences with her music. She has already performed at two media magnets–: Coachella and South by Southwest in Austin, Texas. She’s also scheduled to appear at the this August’s Virgin Mobile Festival in Baltimoree in August.
* * *
Jason Mraz “We Sing, We Dance, We Steal Things”
The pop-rock star is set to release his third studio album, which follows 2005’s “Mr. A-Z.” “We Sing, We Dance, We Steal Things”The new album was recorded primarily in San Diego and London and features collaborations with singer/songwriters Colbie Caillat (on the track “Lucky”) and James Morrison (on “Details In Fabric”). The first single from the album is “I’m Yours.”
* * *
Frank Sinatra “Nothing But the Best”
Fans of Ol’ Blue Eyes–a group demographic that includes basically everyone–will certainly appreciate this collection of remastered hits. The set features Sinatra crooning through 22 classic tunes, including “Strangers in the Night,” “Luck Be a Lady” and “Come Fly with Me.”
* * *
Old 97’s “Blame It On Gravity”
The Texas troupe, led by vocalist Rhett Miller, returns with its seventh studio album. “Blame It On Gravity” is the alt-country-rock band’s first new studio offering since 2004’s acclaimed “Drag It Up.” During the hiatus from the studio, the Old 97’s did release a concert offering (2005’s “Alive and Wired”) and a best-of set (2006’s “Hit by a Train: The Best of the Old 97’s).
More new releases:
Regina Belle, “Love Forever Shines” (Pendulum)
The Black Angels, “Directions to See a Ghost” (Light in the Attic)
T Bone Burnett, “Tooth of Crime” (Nonesuch)
Kerry Butler, “Faith, Trust and Pixie Dust” (P.S.)
Dokken, “Lightning Strikes Again” (Atco)
Christine Ebersole, “Sunday in New York” (Ghostlight)
Filter, “Anthems for the Damned” (Pulse)
Bill Frisell, “History, Mystery” (Nonesuch)
Local H, “12 Angry Months” (Shout)
Pendulum, “In Silico” (Atlantic)
Arsenio Rodriquez, “El Alma de Cuba” (Tumbao)
Siggi Schwarz, “In the Midst of Beauty” (Inakustik)
Keith Sweat, “Just Me” (Rhino)
10 Years, “Division”
Soundtracks and scores:
“The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian” (Disney)