New Tunage – Nope, not a lot to hear here this week, folks!

New CD Releases, March 11: Randy Jackson, Presidents of the United States of America, Snoop Dogg
Randy Jackson “Randy Jackson’s Music Club, Volume 1”
America (as well as the rest of the world) will finally get a chance to vote on an “American Idol” judge, as Jackson–part of the TV show’s three-headed popular-music tribunal, which also includes Paula Abdul and Simon Cowell–releases his first solo album.
Besides starring on “Idol,” Jackson is also a Grammy-winning producer, professional songwriter, multi-talented musician and respected A&R man. He’s got a ton of pull in the industry and he uses his connections to their fullest on this album.
“Randy Jackson’s Music Club, Vol. 1” features such guest stars as fellow “Idol” judge Abdul, “Idol” vets Katherine McPhee and Elliot Yamin, blues-belter Joss Stone, country singer Travis Tritt, Bon Jovi guitarist Richie Sambora and, most impressively, R&B/pop queen Mariah Carey.
* * *
Presidents of the United States of America “These are the Good Times People”
The Seattle modern-rockers return with “These are the Good Times People,” their first studio effort in nearly four years. This follow-up to 2004’s “Love Everybody” features the single “Mixed Up SOB,” which was produced by Kurt Bloch (Robyn Hitchcock, Mudhoney), former frontman of defunct Seattle garage-rock legends The Fastbacks.
The Presidents of the United States of America will back “These are the Good Times People” with a brief headlining tour, which kicks off March 14 in Portland and will hit 11 cities in March, with the bulk of the trek located on the West Coast.
The band’s current lineup consists of “basitarist”/vocalist Chris Ballew, drummer Jason Finn and “guitbass” player Andrew McKeag, who has taken over for founding member Dave Dederer.
* * *
Snoop Dogg “Ego Trippin'”
The rap legend returns with his ninth CD, “Ego Trippin’,” which features the single “Sexual Eruption.” Featured guest stars/producers include Nelly, Raphael Saadiq and–get this–The Gap Band.
* * *
Shawn Mullins “Honeydew”
The Atlanta folk-rocker, best known for the late-’90s hit “Lullaby,” is back with a follow-up to 2006’s “9th Ward Pickin Parlor.” The lead track from the 12-song “Honeydew” CD, “All In My Head,” was originally written as a prospective theme song for “Scrubs” and is featured on that TV show’s soundtrack.
* * *
Mike Patton “A Perfect Place”
The San Francisco Bay Area-based singer, who became a star as the lead vocalist for Faith No More, releases a soundtrack on his own Ipecac label. It’s the score to a 20-minute film noir project, which is also titled “A Perfect Place.” The effort follows the voice-over work that Patton did for the recent big-screen blockbuster “I Am Legend,” where the singer gave “voice” to the zombie-like creatures that star Will Smith battled.
* * *
More new releases:
Jil Aigrot, “Words of Love: The Voice of Edith Piaf in the Award-winning Film ‘La Vie En Rose'” (LML)
DJ BC, Big D & the Kids Table, “Strictly Mixed and Mashed” (For in Hand)
Ill Nino, “Enigma” (Cement Shoes)
Jaymay, “Autumn Fallin'” (Blue Note0
Jonas Kaufmann, “Romantic Arias” (Decca)
Kaki King, “Dreaming of Revenge” (Velour)
Greg Laswell, “How the Day Sounds” (Vanguard)
Charle Lloyd, “Rabo de Nube” (ECM)
Shawn McDonald, “Roots” (Sparrow)
Roger McGuinn, Gene Clark and Chris Hillman, “Capitol Collection” (Capitol)
Meshuggah, “Obzen” (Nuclear Blast)
Rick Ross, “Trilla” (Def Jam)
Various Artists, “Now That’s What I Call the ’80s” (Sony)
Why?, “Alopecia” (Anticon)