Congrats to them all!!

Joel Plaskett Emergency earns 7 ECMA nominations
With seven nominations, Halifax rockers Joel Plaskett Emergency lead the list of 2008 East Coast Music Awards nominees announced Tuesday.
Included among the seven nominations for Joel Plaskett Emergency is a nod for entertainer of the year. Multiple award winners at the 2007 ECMAs, singer-songwriter Joel Plaskett and the band were also Juno and Polaris awards nominees earlier this year.
The band’s 2007 album Ashtray Rock has three nominations, including recording of the year and its single Fashionable People earned nods for best single and songwriter of the year for Plaskett.
Wintersleep, a Halifax indie rock band, earned five nominations including recording of the year, best group recording and best rock recording for their 2007 album Welcome to the Night Sky.
Wintersleep vocalist Paul Murphy, guitar and keyboard player Tim D’Eon, drummer Loel Campbell and bass player Jud Haynes have won a nomination for songwriter of the year for Weighty Ghost and the song has also been nominated as best single.
Singer-songwriters Nathan Wiley of P.E.I. and Jimmy Rankin of Cape Breton and Charlottetown folk rock band Chucky Danger each have four nominations.
The entertainer of the year honour is the only award that is voted on by the public.
This year’s nominees are last year’s winner, veteran country star George Canyon, Halifax singer Jill Barber, Joel Plaskett Emergency, St. John’s singer-songwriter Ron Hynes and Antigonish, N.S., rock band The Trews.
Canyon, who has won entertainer of the year for the past three years, also has nominations for best country album for Classics, competing with Rankin’s Edge of Day and New Brunswick country artist Kevin Chase’s I Won’t Fall.
Among the rising stars gaining notice at this year’s ECMAs are alternative band Alert the Medic, Halifax songerwriter Don Brownrigg, Halifax pop singer Ian Sherwood, Halifax alternative artist Rebekah Higgs and Cape Breton singer-songwriter Stephanie Hardy.
They all have nominations for the rising star recording of the year award.
Hip hop artist Classified has earned three nominations, including rap recording of the year for Hard to be Hip Hop and Jamie Sparks of Cherry Brook, N.S., has three nods, including African-Canadian recording of the year for It’s the Music.
Charlottetown power-pop quartet Two Hours Traffic have nominations for recording of the year and best pop recording for Little Jabs and best video for Jezebel.
The East Coast Music Awards are open to artists from New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Prince Edward Island and Nova Scotia.
The East Coast Music Association will hand out the awards on Feb. 10, 2008, in Fredericton.
ECMA 2008 selected nominees
Entertainer of the year
George Canyon
Jill Barber
Joel Plaskett Emergency
Ron Hynes
The Trews
Recording of the year
Chucky Danger, Chucky Danger
Edge of Day, Jimmy Rankin
Ashtray Rock, Joel Plaskett Emergency
The City Destroyed Me, Nathan Wiley
Little Jabs, Two Hours Traffic
Welcome to the Night Sky, Wintersleep
Alternative recording of the year
Battery Point, Battery Point
Rise, Down with the Butterfly
Woke Myself Up, Julie Doiron
The City Destroyed Me, Nathan Wiley
Future Radio, Slowcoaster
African-Canadian recording
New Beginnings, Chelsea Nisbett
Calvary’s Cross, Dante Hiscock
It’s the music, Jamie Sparks
Country recording of the year
Classics, George Canyon
Edge of Day, Jimmy Rankin
I Won’t Fall, Kevin Chase
Female solo recording
Orchestra for the Moon, Jenn Grant
Short Stories, Jessica Rhaye
Woke Myself Up, Julie Doiron
Rebekah Higgs, Rebekah Higgs
If you were for me, Rose Cousins
Male solo recording
House for sale, Dave Gunning
Classics, George Canyon
It’s the music, Jamie Sparks
Edge of Day, Jimmy Rankin
The City Destroyed Me, Nathan Wiley
Rap, hip-hop recording
Hard to be hip hop, Classified
Make ‘Em Holla, Hotbox with Bonshah & Expedyte
Help! I’ve Been Robbed, J-Bru
One of the Best, MC Sean One
Got It Locked, Mick D
Rock recording of the year
Alert the Medic, Alert the Medic
Chucky Danger, Chucky Danger
Ashtray Rock, Joel Plaskett Emergency
Canvas Tears, The Contact
Welcome to the Night Sky, Wintersleep