Canada has National Jazz Awards?!??!

Krall, BublÈ win National Jazz Awards
Diana Krall and Michael BublÈ were named best vocalists at the National Jazz Awards, Canada’s sixth annual gathering to honour jazz musicians.
Krall, whose From This Moment On was released in 2006, won female vocalist of the year and international musician of the year.
BublÈ took home the male vocalist award at the ceremony at Toronto’s Palais Royale on Tuesday.
Dionne Taylor and David Clayton Thomas were the designated co-hosts of the jazz awards ceremony, with performances scheduled by Oliver Jones, John Nugent, Jim Galloway, Hugh Fraser, Peter Appleyard and young singer Sophie Berkel.
Hilario Duran, a Cuban-born jazz musician who teaches at Toronto’s acclaimed jazz faculty at Humber College in Toronto, won best Latin jazz artist, and his Hilario Duran Latin Jazz Band, formed in 2005, was named best big band.
Phil Nimmons won two awards, as best clarinetist and best arranger.
Montreal pianist Jones’s One More Time was named jazz album of the year. One More Time was made last year after he came out of a much-publicized retirement.
The Murley/Braid Quartet, featuring Mike Murley on tenor saxophone and David Braid on piano, won the honours for best acoustic band after a tour that took them across Canada in 2006. Braid also earned the award for best composer and Murley was named best saxophonist.
National Jazz Awards 2007
Electric band Nick Ali’s Electryc Trio
Musician Don Thompson
Drummer Terry Clark
Bassist George Koller
Guitarist Reg Schwager
Keyboardist Robi Botos
Violinist Anne Lindsay
Instrumentalist Don Thompson
Trumpeter Guido Basso