New Tunage – The Modest Mouse is great, the Joss Stone is more of the same – a great voice with nothing new to say – and the Jesse Malin features Bruce Springsteen!!

New Releases, March 20: Modest Mouse, Joss Stone, Elliott Yamin
Modest Mouse “We Were Dead Before the Ship Even Sank”
After several delays, this Pacific Northwest indie-rock act finally returns with its fifth studio album. The first single from the record is “Dashboard.”
“We Were Dead Before the Ship Even Sank” is the band’s first release to feature former Smiths guitarist Johnny Marr as a permanent member. Last year, Modest Mouse frontman Isaac Brock told Rolling Stone that Marr planned only to be a studio player for the forthcoming Modest Mouse album, but the guitarist found he was a perfect fit for the group.
* * *
Joss Stone “Introducing Joss Stone”
Young soul sensation Joss Stone is set to follow her highly successful debut album, “Mind Body and Soul.” Prior to that 2005 effort, the Grammy-winning singer/songwriter had released an EP, 2003’s “The Soul Sessions,” when she was just 16 years old.
“Introducing Joss Stone” features production work by Raphael Saadiq (D’Angelo, The Roots). The British vocalist will support the album with a North American tour that launches in late April and includes a May 6 date at New Orleans’ Jazz and Heritage Festival.
* * *
Elliott Yamin “Elliott Yamin”
Elliott Yamin is the latest star from last season’s “American Idol” series to release a debut record. He follows finalists Chris Daughtry, Katharine McPhee and winner Taylor Hicks. The first single from Yamin’s self-titled record is “Movin’ On.”
* * *
Willie Nelson, Merle Haggard and Ray Price “Last of the Breed”
Few titles are as appropriate as this one. “Last of the Breed” is a collaboration between three of the finest country singers of all time–Willie Nelson, Merle Haggard and Ray Price–inarguably the greatest country super-group since the Highway Men (which featured Nelson, Johnny Cash, Waylon Jennings and Kris Kristofferson).
* * *
Ted Leo and the Pharmacists “Living With the Living”
The edgy rock trio–featuring singer/songwriter/guitarist Ted Leo, bassist Dave Lerner and drummer Chris Wilson–is set to drop its fifth record. The band will support “Living With the Living” with a North American tour that kicks off March 28 in Philadelphia.
* * *
More new releases:
Andrew Bird, “Armchair Apocrypha” (Fat Possum)
Miguel Bose, “Papito” (Warner Bros.)
C-Murder, “Screamin’ for Vengence” (Priority/Capitol)
Roger Clyne and Peacemakers, “No More Beautiful World” (Emmajava)
Marques Houston, “Veteran” (Universal)
J-Dilla, “Ruff Draft” (Stones Throw)
Joseph Israel, “Gone are the Days” (New Door/UME)
LCD Soundsystem, “Sound of Silver” (Capitol)
Low, “Drums and Guns” (Sub Pop)
Jesse Malin, “Glitter in the Gutter” (Adeline)
Stephen Marley, “Mind Control” (Republic)
Miguel Migs, “Those Things” (Om)
Otep, “Ascension” (Capitol)
Panda Bear, “Person Pitch” (Paw Tracks)
Ricky Skaggs and Bruce Hornsby, “Ricky Skaggs and Bruce Hornsby” (Sony)
Tracey Thorn, “Out of the Woods” (Astralwerks)
Soundtracks and scores:
“Amazing Grace” (Spring House)