New Tunage – Once again, nothing to hear here this week!

New Releases, February 27: David Bromberg, Maynard Ferguson, Dean & Britta
David Bromberg “Try Me One More Time”
The acclaimed vocalist/guitarist is finally back, with his first new CD in 17 years. Bromberg, who had been previously focusing his energy on the craft of violinmaking, was last heard on 1990’s “Sideman Serenade.”
“Try Me One More Time” features a number of covers, including songs originally penned by Reverend Gary Davis, Elizabeth Cotton, Tommy Johnson, Blind Willie McTell and Bob Dylan. It also includes some original compositions.
Bromberg, who is equally comfortable with folk, blues, bluegrass and other musical genres, was known early in his career mostly as a session player and sideman for such stars as Dylan and Jerry Jeff Walker.
* * *
Maynard Ferguson “M.F. Horn 2″/”M.F. Horn 3″/”M.F Horn 4 & 5 – Live at Jimmy’s”/”Wow: Formative Years”
Trumpeter Walter “Maynard” Ferguson, whose work includes the Grammy-nominated “Rocky” movie theme “Gonna Fly Now,” died Aug. 23 2006 at the age of 78. These new reissues celebrate the jazz artist’s impressive career.
* * *
Dean & Britta “Back Numbers”
Dean Wareham and Britta Phillips are best known for being, respectively, the vocalist/guitarist and bassist for Luna. That band called it quits in 2004, but the two musicians are still collaborating.
The duo now returns with its second offering, “Back Numbers.” That should help all the fans who cried over Luna’s passing. For more help, check out the 17-song retrospective, “The Best of Luna,” which was released by Rhino Records last year.
* * *
Do Make Say Think “You, You’re a History in Rust”
The Toronto-based psychedelic indie-rock band, which got its start in the late ’90s, returns with a follow-up to 2003’s “Winter Hymn, Country Hymn, Secret Hymn.” It’s the band’s fifth release overall.
* * *
Nick Warren “Global Underground 030: Paris”
The pioneering DJ, an early champion in trance music, releases his latest in a line of worldly offerings. His past efforts have included 2003’s “Global Underground: Reykjavik” and 2005’s “Global Underground: Shanghai.”
* * *
More new releases:
Paul Brown, “White Sand” (Peak)
John Denver, “The Essential John Denver” (RCA)
Dr. Dog, “We All Belong” (Park the Van)
Bill Engvall, “15 Degrees Off Cool” (Warner Bros.)
4hero, “Play With the Changes” (Milan)
Kenny Loggins, “How About Now” (180 Music) 9Target stores only)
Manowar, “Gods of War” (Circle Song)
Chieli Minucci and Special EFX, “Sweet Surrender” (Shanachie)
Money Mark, “Brand New by Tomorrow” (Brushfire/Universal)
Onetwo, “Instead” (There)
Pagoda, “Pagoda” Ecstatic Peace
Andy Palacio and Garifuna Collective, “Watina” (Cumbancha)
Jennifer Pena, “Dicen Que El Tiempo” (Univision)
Darryl Singletary, “Straight From the Heart” (Shanachie)
Patrick Simmons, “Arcade” (Wounded Bird)
Slim Thug and Boss Hogg Outlawz, “Serve & Collect” (Koch)
Otis Taylor, “Definition of a Circle” (Telarc)
Matt Wertz, “Everything in Between” (Nettwerk)
Rev. Timothy Wright, “Jesus, Jesus, Jesus” (Koch)
Joe Zawinul, “Brown Street” (Heads Up)