New Tunage – I love having new music to listen to!!!!

New Releases, Sept. 19: Fergie, Elton John, Clay Aiken, Diana Krall
Elton John “The Captain and the Kid”
After a 31-year wait, the pop-rock legend finally delivers the follow-up to 1975’s “Captain Fantastic and the Dirt Brown Cowboy,” which is widely considered to be one of John’s finest albums. Of course, he hasn’t exactly been killing time during the break; over the years, John has become a major force on Broadway and in film.
The first single from the album is titled “The Bridge.” The piano-rocker is supporting “The Captain and the Kid” with a major arena tour, which is currently set to conclude with an Oct. 7 date in Atlantic City. After that, it’s back to Las Vegas for his ongoing gig at The Colosseum at Caesars Palace.
* * *
Clay Aiken “A Thousand Different Ways”
The “American Idol” runner-up is back with a new concept album, a cover collection of tunes from the ’70s, ’80s and ’90s. Aiken delivers his versions of such well-known former chart-toppers as “Sorry Seems to Be the Hardest Word,” “Here You Come Again,” “Everything I Do (I Do It For You)” and “I Want to Know What Love Is.” The set also includes four new songs.
“A Thousand Different Ways” follows Aiken’s multi-platinum debut, 2003’s “Measure of a Man,” and the holiday album “Merry Christmas With Love,” which reportedly was the best-selling holiday disc of the 2004 season.
Aiken recently made news after the White House announced that the pop singer was in line to be named to the President’s Committee for People with Intellectual Disabilities.
* * *
Diana Krall “From this Moment On”
The popular jazz vocalist/pianist, who is arguably the genre’s biggest contemporary name, returns with an 11-song collection of mostly jazz standards. The set includes such fine compositions as “Come Dance With Me,” “How Insensitive” and “Willow Weep for Me.” The music was arranged by John Clayton, which means this album should sound great.
According to published reports, the jazz singer and her husband, rock veteran Elvis Costello, are expecting twins in December.
* * *
Kenny Chesney “Live: Those Songs Again”
Chesney, one of the biggest draws in the concert industry, delivers a new live disc that features such fan favorites as “How Forever Feels,” “She Thinks My Tractor’s Sexy” and “Beer in Mexico.” The set also includes a duet of “When the Sun Goes Down” that features Uncle Kracker (who also appeared on the studio version).
* * *
Fergie “The Dutchess”
The Black Eyed Peas singer puts out her debut CD, which already boasts one certified hit in “London Bridge.” In the most recent Billboard Hot 100 singles chart, “London Bridge” was at No. 2, just behind Justin Timberlake’s blockbuster “SexyBack.”
* * *
More new releases:
Bone Thugs-N-Harmony, “Thug Stories” (Koch)
Bonnie Prince Billy, “The Letting Go” (Drag City)
Guy Clark, “Workbench Songs” (Dualtone)
DJ Shadow, “Outsider” (Universal)
Lupe Fiasco, “Food & Liquor” (Atlantic)
Indigo Girls, “Despite Our Differences” (Hollywood)
Kasabian, “Empire” (RCA)
Jonny Lang, “Turn Around” (A&M)
Jesse McCartney, “Right Where You Want Me” (Hollywood)
Mushroomhead, “Savior Sorrow” (Megaforce)
Aaron Neville, “Bring It on Home… the Soul Classics” (Burgundy)
New Found Glory, “Coming Home” (Geffen)
Dilana Smith, “Wonderfool” (Red Bullet)
Chris Smither, “Leave the Light On” (Signature)
Ryan Star, “Songs From the Eye of an Elephant” (Koch)