New Tunage – The Johnny Cash is superb!!

New CD Releases For July 4, 2006
* * *Johnny Cash “American V: A Hundred Highways”
Johnny Cash was a busy “Man in Black” in the months prior to his death on Sept. 12, 2003. He recorded a batch of new material with producer Rick Rubin, the result of which can be heard on this fifth chapter to Cash’s acclaimed “American” series.
Like with previous “American” trips, “A Hundred Highways” features the singer tackling a variety of material. The album includes the traditional spiritual “God’s Gonna Cut You Down” as well as songs written by Hank Williams, Rod McKuen and Bruce Springsteen.
Cash, who was 71 at the time of his death, also sang two originals on the collection–“I Came to Believe” and “Like the 309.” The former is a tune that Cash wrote and originally recorded early in his career. The latter, which is the last song Cash wrote and recorded, incorporates one of the singer’s favorite lyrical motifs–trains.
* * *Rise Against “The Sufferer and the Witness”
Chicago punk-rock band Rise Against delivers its sophomore major-label outing and its first new full-length CD since 2004’s “Siren Song of the Counter Culture.”
The group got its start when two 88 Fingers vets–guitarist Dan Precision and bassist Joe Principe–joined forces with some fellow hardcore enthusiasts in 1999. Rise Against released two albums on San Francisco indie Fat Wreck Chords, 2001’s “The Unraveling” and 2002’s “Revolutions Per Minute,” before signing with Geffen and putting out “Siren Song of the Counter Culture.”
Career highlights for the band included appearing in the skateboard flick “Lords of Dogtown.” Rise Against delivered a version of Black Flag’s “Nervous Breakdown” on the “Dogtown” soundtrack.
The band is touring this summer as part of the Warped Tour.
* * * Mr. Criminal “Stay on the Streets”
The Los Angeles-based rapper returns with a follow-up to 2005’s “Sounds of Crime.” Counting compilations that the hip-hop star has produced, “Stay on the Streets” is Mr. Criminal’s fifth album. He made his debut with “Criminal Mentality” in 2001.
* * *Various Artists “Johnny Cash: Roots and Branches”
Perfectly timed with the release of the new Johnny Cash CD, this album collects 16 recordings by various artists who were highly influential in the Man in Black’s career.
“Roots and Branches” includes such selections as Jimmie Davis’ “Was There When It Happened,” Warren Smith’s “Rock ‘n’ Roll Ruby,” Roy Orbison’s “You’re My Baby,” Ernest Tubb’s “So Doggone Lonesome” and Hank Williams’ “(I Heard That) Lonesome Whistle.”
* * *Alice Peacock “Who I Am”
The Minnesota-born singer/songwriter returns with her third full-length record. “Who I Am” follows 1999’s “Real Day” and 2002’s “Alice Peacock.” The vocalist recently promoted her album with an appearance on Garrison Keillor’s “Prairie Home Companion.”
* * *
More new releases:
Bonobo, “One Off Remixes & B- Sides”
Dave Brubeck, “At Storyville 1954”
Michel Camilo & Tomatito, “Spain Again”
Diana, “Diana 2006”
Frances Faye, “No Regrets”
Steven Ivey, “Country Goes Bluegrass”
Jerry Lewis, “Are You for Real?
Alice Peacock, “Who I Am”
Various Artists, “Hawaiian Love Songs”
Various Artists, “Jazz Divas”
Soundtracks and scores:
“Best of Miami Vice”
“Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest”