Some movie classics are now considered Movie Classics.

‘The Breakfast Club,’ ‘Rushmore’ Among Films Added to National Film Registry

The Breakfast Club, Rushmore, The Princess Bride and legendary punk documentary The Decline of Western Civilization are among the 25 films that have been inducted into the National Film Registry, the Library of Congress announced Wednesday.

Disney’s The Lion King, Who Framed Roger Rabbit? and Alfred Hitchcock’s The Birds are also in the Class of 2016’s inductees in the registry, which showcases “the range and diversity of American film heritage to increase awareness for its preservation.”
The oldest film to be inducted in the Class of 2016 is 1903’s Life of an American Fireman, while 1998’s Rushmore is the class’ most recent film to be recognized by the National Film Registry. The only feature fiction film released after 1998 in the Film Registry is 1999’s The Matrix, which was inducted in 2012.
Other notable movies to enter the registry – which contains over 700 films – include Robert Downey’s classic 1969 satire Putney Swope, the found-footage/nuclear warfare documentary The Atomic Café, Elia Kazan’s John Steinbeck adaptation East of Eden and the 1991 road movie Thelma & Louise.
View the National Film Registry’s Class of 2016 below:
The Atomic Café
Ball of Fire
The Beau Brummels
The Birds
Blackboard Jungle
The Breakfast Club
The Decline of Western Civilization
East of Eden
Funny Girl
Life of an American Fireman
The Lion King
Lost Horizon
Musketeers of Pig Alley
Paris Is Burning
Point Blank
The Princess Bride
Putney Swope
Reverend Solomon Sir Jones films
Steamboat Bill, Jr.
Suzanne, Suzanne
Thelma & Louise
20,000 Leagues Under the Sea
A Walk in the Sun
Who Framed Roger Rabbit?