Eric Clapton Announces New Solo Album, ‘Clapton’
Rock legend Eric Clapton has announced the release of “Clapton,” his 19th solo studio album and first in five years, due Sept. 28 on Reprise Records. The 14-song disc was co-produced by longtime collaborator Doyle Bramhall II and features guest appearances by Steve Winwood, Wynton Marsalis, Sheryl Crow, Allen Toussaint and Derek Trucks, among others.
Clapton says the follow-up to 2005’s “Back Home” turned into an entirely different project than he had originally intended. “It’s actually better than it was meant to be because, in a way, I just let it happen,” says Clapton.” It’s an eclectic collection of songs that weren’t really on the map-and I like it so much because if it’s a surprise to the fans, that’s only because it’s a surprise to me, as well.”
Released in Sept. 2005, “Back Home” debuted at No. 13 on the Billboard 200. The release of “Clapton” follows Clapton’s scattered shows with Jeff Beck earlier this year and a performance at his Crossroads Guitar Festival last June.
Here is the track list for “Clapton”:
“Travelin’ Alone”
“Rocking Chair”
“River Runs Deep”
“Judgement Day”
“How Deep Is The Ocean”
“My Very Good Friend The Milkman”
“Can’t Hold Out Much Longer”
“That’s No Way To Get Along”
“Everything Will Be Alright”
“Diamonds Made From Rain”
“When Somebody Thinks You’re Wonderful”
“Hard Times Blues”
“Run Back To Your Side”
“Autumn Leaves”