12989 – Congrats, folks!!

‘The Hurt Locker’ sweeps National Society of Film Critics Awards
“The Hurt Locker” swept the awards bestowed today by the National Society of Film Critics during its voting conclave held at Sardi’s restaurant in New York. The Iraqi war drama won best picture, director (Kathryn Bigelow) and actor (Jeremy Renner as a daredevil U.S. soldier who disarms bombs).
The society voted Yolande Moreau best actress for “Seraphine.” Previously, she won best actress for her portrayal of French artist Seraphine de Senlis at the Cesar Awards (France’s equivalent of the Oscars) where “Seraphine” swept up seven trophies, including best picture. She also won the lead actress laurels bestowed by the Los Angeles Film Critics Association.
Earlier this derby season, “The Hurt Locker” was voted best picture by the New York Film Critics Circle, Los Angeles Film Critics Association, Boston Society of Film Critics, Gotham Awards and other groups.
Other NSFC winners:
Supporting Actor: Christoph Waltz, “Inglourious Basterds,” and Paul Schneider, “Bright Star”
Supporting Actress: Mo’Nique, “Precious”
Screenplay: Joel and Ethan Coen, “A Serious Man”
Foreign-Language Film: “Summer Hours”
Nonfiction Film: “The Beaches of Agnes”
Cinematography: Christian Berger, “The White Ribbon”
Production design: Nelson Lowry, “Fantastic Mr. Fox”
The society includes 64 members from major media outlets in Los Angeles, New York, Boston, Philadelphia and Chicago, including Time, Newsweek, New Yorker, Village Voice and It’s been bestowing awards since 1966.