New Tunage – I haven’t had the chance to hear any of these…even the new Tragically Hip disc!! Busy, busy, busy!!!

New CD Releases, April 7th: Rascal Flatts, Neil Young, James Taylor, Jason Aldean, The Grateful Dead, The Tragically Hip and more
Rascal Flatts “Unstoppable” (Lyric Street)
The multi-platinum country trio returns with “Unstoppable,” the group’s first batch of new tunes since 2007’s “Still Feels Good.” It also follows last year’s best-of package, “Greatest Hits Volume 1.”
The first single from “Unstoppable” is the track “Here Comes Goodbye,” which was co-written by “American Idol” Season 6 finalist Chris Sligh. The song turned out to be a sizable radio hit, spending several weeks in the Top 10 on Billboard’s Hot Country Songs chart.
Rascal Flatts, which won for Favorite Group at the 2009 People’s Choice Awards, will support “Unstoppable” with a summer tour of amphitheaters and pavilions throughout the US. The trek will begin June 5 in the St. Louis area and is currently slated for an Oct. 18 wrap-up in Kelseyville, CA.
* * *
Neil Young “Fork in the Road” (Reprise)
The Rock and Roll Hall of Famer is set to sing the praises of eco-friendly transportation on his latest release. The themes on “Fork in the Road” are drawn from the musician’s dedication to build a commercially viable electric power system for automobiles, according to a Billboard report.
Whether one agrees with Young’s views on transportation issues or not, most will be happy to learn that the singer/songwriter is doing more than just talking the talk–he’s riding the ride as well. He’s retooled his 1959 Lincoln Continental as part of the Lincvolt Project, a joint effort with biodiesel pioneer Johnathan Goodwin. The project and Young’s prototype Lincvolt vehicle are reflected in such “Fork in the Road” songs such as “Fuel Line,” “Johnny Magic,” “Off the Road” and “Get Behind the Wheel.”
Young will spend this month supporting the new album, mainly in Canada; the sole US date in April is on the 27th in Denver, CO. He will, however, make time for an appearance at the New Orleans Jazz and Heritage Festival on May 3.
* * *
James Taylor “Other Covers” (Hear Music)
The acclaimed vocalist is set to release a sequel to his popular “Covers” album, which was released last September and debuted at No. 4 on The Billboard 200 album chart.
That previous outing found Taylor trying out songs originally made famous by such artists as Buddy Holly, the Temptations, George Jones and Leonard Cohen. On “Other Covers,” Taylor handles the likes of Eddie Floyd’s “Knock on Wood,” Wilson Pickett’s “In the Midnight Hour” and “Oh, What a Beautiful Mornin’,” from the “Oklahoma!” songbook.
Taylor will support both “Covers” releases with tour dates scheduled for this month and next. Of note, he’ll perform April 25 at the New Orleans Jazz and Heritage Festival.
* * *
Jason Aldean “Wide Open” (Broken Bow)
The country star, who has sold more than 2 million copies of his first two albums, gets back in the saddle with his third release. “Wide Open” follows 2007’s “Relentless,” a work that produced the Top 10 country hits “Johnny Cash” and “Laughed Until We Cried.”
The lead-off single from “Wide Open” is the cut “She’s Country,” which was released to radio in November and quickly rose to become Aldean’s latest Top 10 smash.
* * *
Grateful Dead “To Terrapin: May 28, 1977 Hartford, CT” (Rhino)
Recorded just prior to the release of one of the Grateful Dead’s more-popular studio offerings, 1977’s “Terrapin Station,” this three-disc live set finds Jerry Garcia and company performing such fan favorites as “Sugaree,” “Candyman” and “Jack Straw.” Tapers have long cherished recordings from this night, and now everyone else can enjoy the party as well.
* * *
More new releases:
Bat for Lashes, “Two Suns” (Astralwerks)
Doves, “Kingdom of Rust” (Astralwerks)
Erasure, “Total Pop! Deluxe Box” (Rhino)
The Hold Steady, “A Positive Rage” (Vagrant)
Jadakiss, “The Last Kiss” (Ruff Ryders)
Lady Sovereign, “Jigsaw” (Midget)
Libera, “Eternal: The Best of Libera” (EMI)
Jesse McCartney, “Departure: Recharged” (Hollywood)
Moby Grape, “The Place and the Time” (Sundazed)
Bob Mould, “Life and Times” (Anti)
Oceano, “Depths” (Earache)
Vienna Teng, “Inland Territory” (Zoe)
Tower of Power, “Great American Soulbook” (TOP)
The Tragically Hip, “We Are the Same” (Zoe)