New Tunage – I still love that Beasties CD!

New CD Releases, February 10th: Lily Allen, Beastie Boys, India.Arie, Jorma Kaukonen and more
Beastie Boys “Paul’s Boutique: 20th Anniversary Edition” (Capitol)
The hip-hop troupe is celebrating the 20th anniversary of its seminal sophomore release, 1989’s “Paul’s Boutique,” a work that is routinely ranked among the greatest albums of all time.
“Paul’s Boutique: 20th Anniversary Edition” features the first-ever digital remastering of the original tracks. It also includes the original vinyl artwork as well as a fold-out poster.
* * *
Lily Allen “It’s Not Me, It’s You” (Capitol)
The British pop star serves up her sophomore release, which follows 2006’s “Alright, Still,” the blockbuster debut that has sold more than 3 million copies worldwide.
Allen recorded the majority of “It’s Not Me, It’s You” in Los Angeles, working with producer Greg Kurstin of the band The Bird and the Bee. The first single from the album is the track “The Fear.”
The 23-year-old vocalist will support “It’s Not Me, It’s You” with a North American tour that begins April 1 in San Diego and continues through an April 22 date in Toronto.
* * *
India.Arie “Testimony: Vol. 2, Love & Politics” (Republic)
The R&B/soul singer is back with her fourth CD, a follow-up to 2006’s “Testimony: Vol. 1, Life & Relationship.” That previous album was India.Arie’s first to top The Billboard 200 and her second to reach No. 1 on the R&B chart.
Thus far, “Testimony: Vol. 2, Love & Politics” has produced two singles: “Chocolate High” and “Therapy.” The album features guest appearances by such talents as MC Lyte, Musiq Soulchild and Sezen Aksu.
* * *
Jorma Kaukonen “River of Time” (Red House)
The supremely talented guitarist/vocalist, a founding member of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame act Jefferson Airplane, returns with a follow-up to 2007’s “Stars in My Crown.”
“River of Time” was produced by Larry Campbell, a man best known for his work in Bob Dylan’s band, and recorded at Levon Helm’s Woodstock studio.
Contributors include Helm on drums, Barry Mitterhoff on mandolin and Campbell’s wife, Teresa Williams, on vocals.
The 13-track set includes six Kaukonen originals as well as compositions from Mississippi John Hurt, Rev. Gary Davis, Merle Haggard and The Grateful Dead.
* * *
Various artists
“NCIS: The Official TV Soundtrack” (CBS)
This two-disc soundtrack to the popular TV program features tracks from such big-name artists as Bob Dylan, Perry Farrell and Seether. The set, of course, includes songs that have been featured in past “NCIS” episodes. What differentiates it from many TV soundtracks, however, is that it also includes numbers that will be played in future episodes.
* * *
More new releases:
Dan Auerbach, “Keep It Hid” (Nonesuch)
Alex Cline, “Continuation” (Cryptogramophone)
Alice Cooper, “School’s Out” (Audio Fidelity)
Jon Hassell, “Last Night the Moon Came Dropping Its Clothes in the Street” (Republic)
Buddy Holly, “Memorial Collection” (Geffen)
Ryan Leslie, “Ryan Leslie” (Casablanca)
The Lonely Island, “Incredibad” (Republic)
Amaia Montero, “Amaia Montero” (Sony)
Napalm Death, “Time Waits for No Slave” (Century Media)
Red, “Innocence & Instinct” (Providence)
2002, “A Word in the Wind” (Gemini Sun)
Bobby Valentino, “The Rebirth” (EMI)
Johnny Winter, “Live Bootleg Series, Vol. 4” (Friday Night)
Soundtracks and scores:
“Maggie Flynn (1968 Original Broadway Cast)” (DRG)