New Tunage – The only one of these that I have heard so far is the Pussycat Dolls’ new one. It is okay…more of the same.

New CD Releases, September 23rd: Kings of Leon, Jackson Browne, David Gilmour
Kings of Leon “Only by the Night” (RCA)
The Southern alt-rock troupe returns to the fray with its fourth album, “Only by the Night,” which is a follow-up to last year’s “Because of the Times.”
“Only by the Night” was recorded on the band’s home turf in Nashville, TN, and features the leadoff single “Sex on Fire.” Fans can hear the new tracks in concert during Kings of Leon’s fall tour, which launches Oct. 11 in Las Vegas.
* * *
Jackson Browne “Time the Conqueror” (Inside Recordings)
The acclaimed singer-songwriter returns with his first new studio release in six years. “Time the Conqueror” follows 2002’s “The Naked Ride Home,” which also marked the end of a six-year hiatus between studio recordings.
The new 10-song set was recorded with the performer’s longtime band–Kevin McCormick, Mark Goldenberg, Mauricio “Fritz” Lewak and Jeff Young–along with additional members Chavonne Morris and Alethea Mills.
The Rock and Roll Hall of Famer kicked off his “Time the Conqueror World Tour” last week in Washington, DC. The trek will continue to stop at North American venues through early November.
In other news, Browne recently sued Senator John McCain and the Republican National Committee. The move was in response to a recent TV commercial supporting McCain’s presidential bid that incorporates the Browne signature song “Running on Empty.”
* * *
David Gilmour “Live in Gdansk” (Sony)
The legendary vocalist/guitarist from Pink Floyd gives fans a full-fledged document of his most recent solo tour. The two-CD, two-DVD set captures a full gig that Gilmour performed at the shipyards in Gdansk, Poland.
“Live in Gdansk” includes performances of such Pink Floyd favorites as “Shine On You Crazy Diamond, “Breathe” and “Echoes.” It also features tracks from Gilmour’s most recent studio outing, “On an Island.”
* * *
TV on the Radio “Dear Science” (Interscope)
The avant-garde New York rock band is set to release its third studio album, which follows 2006’s highly acclaimed “Return to Cookie Mountain.”
TV on the Radio is already out supporting “Dear Science.” The road show began early this month in Portland, OR, and is scheduled to hit approximately 26 cities. Detroit garage rockers The Dirtbombs will open the October and November dates, while folksinger Miles Benjamin Anthony Robinson will provide support for most of the September shows.
* * *
Jenny Lewis “Acid Tongue” (Reprise)
The Rilo Kiley vocalist adds to her solo resume with the release of “Acid Tongue.” It’s Lewis’ second solo offering, following 2006’s “Rabbit Fur Coat.” She’s currently in the midst of a 14-date tour in support of “Acid Tongue.” The trek will include a stop at the Austin City Limits Music Festival on Sept. 26.
* * *
More new releases:
Cold War Kids, “Loyalty to Loyalty” (Downtown)
Fourplay, “Energy” (Heads Up)
Demi Lovato, “Don’t Forget” (Hollywood)
Bette Midler, “Jackpot: The Best Bette” (Warner Bros.)
Mogwai, “The Hawk is Howling” (Matador)
Old Crow Medicine Show, “Tennessee Pusher” (Nettwerk)
Pussycat Dolls, “Doll Domination” (Interscope)
The Replacements, “Pleased to Meet Me” (Rhino)
The Replacements, “Tim” (Rhino)
Jazmine Sullivan, “Fearless” (J-Records)
Thievery Corporation, “Radio Retaliation” (Eighteenth Street)
Hank Williams III, “Hank III Collector’s Edition” (Curb)
Within Temptation, “Black Symphony” (Roadrunner)
Soundtracks and scores:
“Sex and the City, Vol. 2” (Steady)