New Tunage – Welcome Back Motley Crue!!

New CD Releases, June 24: Motley Crue, Amos Lee, Sigur Ros
Motley Crue “Saints of Los Angeles”
These veteran head-bangers are set to release their first new studio album since 2000’s “New Tattoo.” “Saints of Los Angeles” was recorded by the bandís original lineup: drummer Tommy Lee, guitarist Mick Mars, bassist Nikki Sixx and vocalist Tommy Lee. The previous record to feature that cast was 1997’s “Generation Swine.”
The first single from “Saints of Los Angeles” is its title track, which includes backup vocals from Buckcherry’s Josh Todd, Papa Roach’s Jacoby Shaddix, Sixx:A.M.’s James Michael and Trapt’s Chris Brown.
The Crue will support the record this summer by headlining its own touring festival, dubbed Crue Fest. The road trip, which also features Buckcherry, Papa Roach, Crue bassist Nikki Sixx’s side-project Sixx:A.M. and alt-rockers Trapt, kicks off July 1 in West Palm Beach, FL.
* * *
Amos Lee “Last Days at the Lodge”
The Philadelphia-born singer/songwriter returns with a follow-up to 2006’s “Supply and Demand,” which was produced by Natalie Merchant’s bassist, Barrie Maguire, and peaked at No. 76 on The Billboard 200 chart.
“Last Days at the Lodge” was produced by legendary studio presence Don Was (Bob Dylan, The Rolling Stones), and features a veteran cast of back-up talent, including Doyle Bramhall, Jr (Eric Clapton) on guitar, Spooner Oldham (Neil Young, Aretha Franklin) on keys, Pino Palladino (The Who, John Mayer Trio) on bass and James Gadson (Bill Withers) on drums, among others.
Lee will support “Last Days at the Lodge” with a tour that begins July 8 in Kitchener, Ontario, and stretches into late August.
* * *
Sigur Ros “Med Sud i Eyrum Vid Spilum Endalaust”
These Icelandic alt-rockers never make things easy on their listeners–especially not those who speak only English. The title of their latest album, “Med Sud i Eyrum Vid Spilum Endalaust,” won’t be attempted by many DJs on air. The English translation of the title is “With a Buzz in Our Ears We Play Endlessly.”
This disc, the band’s fifth studio album and its first since 2005’s “Takk…,” does include one song performed in English (“All Alright”), which is a first for the band. “Med Sud i Eyrum Vid Spilum Endalaust” was co-produced by the band with veteran producer Flood (U2, Smashing Pumpkins) and recorded in New York City; London; the band’s hometown of Reykjavik, Iceland; and Havana, Cuba.
The group recently finished up a short North American tour, which included a set at the giant Bonnaroo festival in Manchester, TN.
* * *
Alejandro Escovedo “Real Animal”
The popular singer/songwriter/guitarist is ready to unleash “Real Animal,” which follows 2006’s “The Boxing Mirror.” Wasting no time, the road warrior is already on tour in support of the album.
The 13-track “Real Animal” was produced by legendary studio hand Tony Visconti (David Bowie, T Rex). Escovedo’s previous album was helmed by another great producer, The Velvet Undergroundís John Cale.
* * *
Shinedown “The Sound of Madness”
The platinum-selling hard-rock troupe is back with its third album, which follows 2003’s “Leave a Whisper” and 2005ís “Us and Them.” The lead single from “The Sound of Madness” is “Devour.”
* * *
More new releases:
Gerald Albright, “Sax for Stax” (Peak)
Eric Darius, “Goin’ All Out” (Blue Note)
Jon Foreman, “Spring and Summer” (Credential)
Hercules and Love Affair, “Hercules and Love Affair” (Mute)
Billy Idol, “The Very Best of Billy Idol: Idolize Yourself” (Capitol)
Edwin McCain, “Nobody’s Fault But Mine” (Time Life)
Reckless Kelly, “Bulletproof” (Yep Roc)
Thalia, “Lunada” (EMI)
Three 6 Mafia, “Last 2 Walk” (Sony)
Walter Trout, “The Outsider” (Megaforce)
Steve Tyrell, “Back to Bacharach” (Koch)
Various artists, “Big Blue Ball” (Real World)
Soundtracks and scores:
“Into Great Silence: Office of the Night” (Jade)
“Wall*e” (Disney)