New Tunage – Man, I wish there were a few good discs to listen to, but not this week!!!

New CD Releases, Aug. 21: Josh Ritter, Joe Bonamassa, New Pornographers
Josh Ritter “The Historical Conquests of Josh Ritter”
The acclaimed singer/songwriter returns with his follow-up to last year’s “The Animal Years,” a work that wowed many critics and wound up on several year-end Top 10 lists. The excellently titled “The Historical Conquests of Josh Ritter” is the vocalist’s fourth album.
Although born in Idaho, Ritter first made his fame through touring and recording in Ireland. The Emerald isle still boasts his most fervent fan base, but his home country is quickly catching up in that race.
Big fans won’t want to wait long before picking up a copy of “The Historical Conquests of Josh Ritter,” since the disc’s first run includes a bonus 4-song EP.
* * *
Joe Bonamassa “Sloe Gin”
The blues-rock star is back with his seventh album, “Sloe Gin,” which re-teams him with producer Kevin Shirley (Joe Satriani, Led Zeppelin).
The set, which follows last year’s “You and Me,” includes originals and cover songs. The cover material ranges from the Ten Years After classic “One of These Days” and Paul Rodgers’ “Seagull” to the John Martin tune “Jelly Roll” and Charles Brown’s “Black Night.”
The stellar guitarist/vocalist, who began playing at age 4, will support “Sloe Gin” with a lengthy North American tour. The trek kicks off Aug. 27 in Sellersville, PA, and is set to finish Nov. 30 in West Palm Beach, FL.
* * *
The New Pornographers “Challengers”
The Canadian indie-pop ensemble, known for having a shifting lineup that still usually includes core members Dan Behar and Neko Case, is set to release a follow-up to the 2005 breakthrough set “Twin Cinema.”
The New Pornographers will back “Challengers” with a North American road show set to begin with a Sept. 13 show in Victoria, British Columbia. The tour is scheduled to run through a Nov. 5 date in Englewood, CO, and will feature a plethora of opening acts–including Lavender Diamond, Emma Pollock and a pair of New Pornographers side projects, Immaculate Machine and Fancey.
* * *
Rilo Kiley “Under the Blacklight”
The pop-rock outfit is back with its fourth full-length album, which marks its debut on Warner Bros. The first single from the set is “The Moneymaker.”
“Under the Black Light” follows an 18-month hiatus, during which time lead singer Jenny Lewis released her debut solo album, singer/guitarist Blake Sennett released a second album with The Elected, and drummer Jason Boesel recorded with Bright Eyes.
Now reunited, the band will perform “Under the Black Light” during a five-week North American tour that starts Sept. 6 in San Francisco.
* * *
Talib Kweli “Ear Drum”
The hip-hop great has lined up an impressive cast of stars for his latest release. “Ear Drum” features production assistance from Kanye West, Black Eyed Peas’ Will.I.Am, Madlib and Hi-Tek, as well as guest appearances by Norah Jones, Jean Grae and UGK.
* * *
More new releases:
Architecture in Helsinki, “Places Like This” (Polyvinyl)
Louis Armstrong, “Monterey Jazz Festival Live 1958” (MJF)
As I Lay Dying, “An Ocean Between Us” (Metal Blade)
Miles Davis, “Monterey Jazz Festival Live 1963” (MJF)
The Flaming Lips, “U.F.O’s at the Zoo: The Legendary Concert in Oklahoma” (Reprise)
Darren Hayes, “This Delicate Thing We’ve Made” (Powdered Sugar)
M.I.A., “Kala” (Interscope)
Loreena McKennitt, “Nights from the Alhambra” (Verve)
Thelonious Monk, “Monterey Jazz Festival Live 1964” (MJF)
Joe Nichols, “Real Things” (Univeral South)
Ratt, “Tell the World: The Very Best of Ratt” (Rhino)
Sixx: A.M., “The Heroin Diaries” (Eleven Seven)
Luciana Souza, “New Bossa Nova” (Verve)
Soundtracks and scores:
“Halloween” (Hip-O)