New Tunage – It is a pretty slow week, but I am excited about the “Doctor Who” soundtrack!!

New Releases, February 13: Lucinda Williams, Van Morrison & Doctor Who!!
Lucinda Williams “West”
Williams, one of the most highly acclaimed songwriters of modern times, releases the follow-up to 2003’s Grammy-nominated “World Without Tears.” “West,” the singer’s eighth release, was co-produced by Williams and Hal Wilner (Lou Reed).
Notable contributors to the album include jazz guitar great Bill Frisell and Williams’ longtime guitarist Doug Petibone. The first single is “Are You Alright.”
The Louisiana native is currently on a short tour in support of the album, which stretches through a March 30 date in Nashville.
* * *
Van Morrison “At the Movies: Soundtrack Hits”
This 19-track collection reads pretty much like a greatest-hits set. The catch, as one can easily discern from the title, is that these are all Morrison songs that were featured in films.
The record includes such Van the Man staples as “Gloria,” “Domino,” “Wild Night,” “Brown Eyed Girl” and “Into the Mystic.” It also features Morrison’s collaboration with Roger Waters on Pink Floyd’s “Comfortably Numb,” recorded live at the Berlin Wall in 1990 and featured in Martin Scorsese’s Oscar-nominated “The Departed.”
* * *
Gerald Levert “In My Songs”
“In My Songs” serves as the final farewell for this classy R&B singer. Levert, 40, died of Nov. 10, 2006 at his home in Cleveland. The soul singer’s previous studio set was 2004’s “Do I Speak For the World.”
* * *
Doobie Brothers “Very Best Of”
The legendary San Francisco Bay Area band gets the royal Rhino treatment here. This two-disc collection includes such smokin’ Doobie tunes as “China Grove,” “Minute By Minute,” “What a Fool Believes,” “Long Train Runnin'” and “Listen to the Music.”
* * *
Martha Scanlan “West Was Burning”
The former vocalist for the great bluegrass band the Reeltime Travelers delivers her solo debut. Scanlan is best known for her work with the Reeltime Travelers on the “Cold Mountain” soundtrack.
* * *
More new releases:
Uri Caine, “Plays Mozart” (Winter and Winter)
Dukedagod, “Jr Writer: Writer’s Block 4” (Diplomatic Man)
Nina Hagen, “Fearless” (Koch)
Peggy Mcguire Hills, “Peggy’s Violin: A Butterfly in Time” (Children’s Group)
Infamous Stringdusters, “Fork in the Road” (Sugarhill)
Nouvelle Vague, “Late Night Tales” (LNT)
Daryl Sherman, “Guess Who’s in Town” (Arbors)
Jean-Yves Thibaudet, “Aria: Opera Without Words” (Decca)
Various Artists, “Eat to the Beat: The Dirtiest of them Dirty Blues” (Bear Family)
Young Dubliners, “With All Due Respect: The Irish Sessions” (429)
Soundtracks and scores:
“Catch and Release” (Varese)
“Doctor Who: Original Television Soundtrack” (Silva Screen)
“Ghost Rider” (Varese)
“Music and Lyrics” (Atlantic)
“Robotech: The Shadow Chronicles” (Varese)