Entry 7200 – This is the 7200th post on our site!!

Bright Side of Life: ‘Monty Python’s Spamalot’ Recording Released by Decca Broadway
Decca Broadway releases the original cast recording of Broadway’s new musical Monty Python’s Spamalot May 3.
Tim Curry, David Hyde Pierce, Hank Azaria and the company of the musical recorded the album at New York City’s Right Track Studios Feb. 7.
Mike Nichols (“The Graduate,” “Angels in America”) directed the musical inspired by the 1975 feature film comedy “Monty Python and the Holy Grail” which ended its world premiere at Chicago’s Shubert Theatre Jan. 23 and heads for the Broadway Shubert for a St. Valentine’s Day (Feb. 14) start and a St. Patrick’s Day (March 17) opening.
The self-proclaimed “lovingly ripped-off” show features a book by Eric Idle, based on the screenplay he co-wrote with Monty Python creators Graham Chapman, John Cleese, Terry Gilliam, Terry Jones and Michael Palin.
Spamalot tells the tale of King Arthur and his Knights of the Round Table on their quest from God (voiced by a familiar actor) for the Holy Grail – with a short stop in the dazzling Spam-filled land of Camelot. The show boasts “a chorus line of dancing divas and knights, flatulent Frenchmen, killer rabbits and one legless knight” who sing and dance. (Python devotees will be happy to know The Knights Who Say “Ni!” also make an appearance.)
Featuring a completely new score with music and lyrics by Idle and composer John Du Prez (“A Fish Called Wanda”), Spamalot also includes songs (“Brave Sir Robin” and “Knights of the Round Table”) from the original film.
The track listing for the album will be as follows:
1. “Tuning”
2. “Overture”
3. “Historian’s Introduction to Act I”
4. “Finland / Fisch Schlapping Dance”
5. “Monks / He Is Not Dead Yet”
6. “Come With Me”
7. “Laker Girls Cheer”
8. “The Song That Goes Like This”
9. “He Is Not Dead Yet – Play Off”
10. “All For One”
11. “Knights of the Round Table / The Song That Goes Like This (Reprise)”
12. “Find Your Grail”
13. “Run Away!”
14. “Intermission”
15. “Historian’s Introduction To Act II”
16. “Always Look on the Bright Side of Life”
17. “Brave Sir Robin ”
18. “You Won’t Succeed On Broadway”
19. “Diva’s Lament (Whatever Happened To My Part?)”
20. “Where Are You?”
21. “His Name Is Lancelot”
22. “I’m All Alone”
23. “Twice In Every Show”
24. “Act II Finale”
25. “Always Look on the Bright Side of Life – Company Bow”
The new musical stars Tim Curry (The Rocky Horror Show, “Clue”) as King Arthur, David Hyde Pierce (“Frasier,” The Heidi Chronicles) as Sir Robin, Hank Azaria (“The Birdcage,” Sexual Perversity in Chicago) as Sir Lancelot, Christopher Seiber (Into The Woods) as Sir Galahad, Michael McGrath (Wonderful Town) as Patsy et al., Steve Rosen (The Golem) as Sir Bedevere and Sara Ramirez (A Class Act) as The Lady of the Lake.
The ensemble includes John Bolton, Christian Borle, Brad Bradley, Thomas Cannizzaro, Kevin Covert, Jennifer Frankel, Lisa Gajda, Jenny Hill, Emily Hsu, James Ludwig, Abbey O’Brien, Daniel Pearce, Ariel Reid, Pamela Remler, Greg Reuter, Brian Shepard, Rick Spaans and Scott Taylor.
Todd Ellison is musical director and vocal arranger. Larry Hochman provides orchestrations, Glen Kelly handles music arrangements and Michael Keller is musical coordinator.
For more information, visit the show website at