How can they be considered “new” songs if two of the original members are dead!??!

New Who Songs Tipped For Best-Of Set
The Who’s first new songs since the 1982 album “It’s Hard” will be included on an upcoming best-of collection, has learned. Due March 30 via Geffen, “Then and Now! 1964-2004” will feature the new tracks “Real Good Looking Boy” and “Old Red Wine,” alongside 18 of the legendary British rock act’s familiar hits.
In November, guitarist Pete Townshend wrote on his official Web site that he and vocalist Roger Daltrey recorded “Real Good Looking Boy” with assistance from drummer Zak Starkey, keyboardist John “Rabbit” Bundrick, bassist Greg Lake and Townshend’s brother Simon. No details are known about “Old Red Wine.”
Now the group’s lone surviving original members, Townshend and Daltrey have been working in earnest on new material since the summer 2002 death of bassist John Entwistle.
“Then and Now” will originally intended to be issued the same day as a DVD-Audio edition of the group’s 1969 rock opera “Tommy,” but that album has been pushed back to April 27. As previously reported, the Who will play “Tommy” live March 29 at London’s Royal Albert Hall, as part of a benefit concert series for the Teenage Cancer Trust. The group is also confirmed to play March 22 and 24-25 at the London Forum and to co-headline the U.K.’s Isle of Wight Festival in June.
In related news, the Who’s “I Can’t Explain,” “My Generation” and “I Can See for Miles” are featured on the boxed set “The British Invasion (1963-1967),” due Tuesday (March 2) from Hip-O/Universal Music Enterprises. The triple-disc package also sports classic tracks from Dusty Springfield, Manfred Mann, the Kinks, the Zombies, Tom Jones, the Small Faces, the Moody Blues and the Spencer Davis Group.
Here is the track list for “Then and Now!”:
“I Can’t Explain”
“My Generation”
“The Kids Are Alright”
“I’m a Boy”
“Happy Jack”
“I Can See for Miles”
“Magic Bus”
“Pinball Wizard”
“See Me, Feel Me”
“Summertime Blues” (live)
“Behind Blue Eyes”
“Won’t Get Fooled Again”
“Love, Reign O’er Me”
“Squeeze Box”
“Who You Are”
“You Better You Bet”
“Real Good Looking Boy”
“Old Red Wine”